author image


Ο Paul West γεννήθηκε στην Αγγλία το 1930. Μετά τις σπουδές του στην Οξφόρδη και στη Νέα Yόρκη, εγκαταστάθηκε μόνιμα στις Ηνωμένες Πολιτείες. Εξαιρετικά πολυγράφος, έχει τιμηθεί με τα εγκυρότερα λογοτεχνικά βραβεία στην Αμερική και την Ευρώπη. Η ικανότητά του στη σύλληψη και την απόδοση πολύπλοκων θεμάτων οδήγησε τους κριτικούς να τον συγκρίνουν με τον Μέλβιλ και τον Kαλβίνο. Εκτός από μυθιστορήματα, έχει γράψει ποίηση και δοκίμια, μεταξύ των οποίων και μια μελέτη για τον Λόρδο Βύρωνα. Έργα του είναι: Poems (1952), The Growth of the Novel (1959), Byron and the Spoiler’s Art (1960), The Spellbound Horses (1960), A Quality of Mercy (1961), I, Said the Sparrow (1963), The Modern Novel (1963), The Snow Leopard (1964), Robert Penn Warren (1964), Tenement of Clay (1965), Alley Jaggers (1966), The Wine of Absurdity. Essays in Literature and Consolation (1966), Words for a Deaf Daughter (1969), I’m Expecting to Live Quite Soon (1970), Caliban’s Filibuster (1971), Bela Lugosi’s White Christmas (1972), Colonel Mint (1972), Gala (1976), The Very Rich Hours of Count von Stauffenberg (1980), Out of My Depths. A Swimmer in the Universe (1983), Rat Man of Paris (1986), Sheer Fiction, τόμ. 1 (1987), The Place in Flowers, Where Pollen Rests (1988), The Universe and Other Fictions (1988), Lord Byron’s Doctor (1989), Portable People (1990), The Women of Whitechapel and Jack the Ripper (1991), Sheer Fiction, τόμ. 2 (1991), James Ensor (1991), Love’s Mansion (1992), Sheer Fiction, τόμ. 3 (1994), The Tent of Orange Mist (1995), A Stroke of Genius. Illness and Self-Discovery (1995), Sporting with Amaryllis (1996), My Mother’s Music (1996), Life With Swan (1997), Terrestrials (1997), OK. The Corral, the Earps and Doc Holliday (2000), The Dry Danube. A Hitler Forgery (2000), The Secret Lives of Words (2000), A Fifth of November (2001), Master Class. Scenes From A Fiction Workshop (2001), Cheops. A Cupboard for the Sun (2002), Oxford Days (2002), The Immensity of the Here and Now. A Novel of 9.11 (2003), Sheer Fiction, τόμ. 4 (2004), My Father’s War (2005), Tea with Osiris (2006), The Shadow Factory (2008).

Βιβλία από τον συγγραφέα